Beet Root Pizza

I’m a pizza person. I will always love the idea of good bread, with melted cheese and vegetables, but lately all the pizzas I’ve had were from the fast food place down on the corner, or the frozen kind. Not very gourmet, is it?

So inspired by one of my favorite food programs, River Cottage (the episode where Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall convinces school children that vegetables taste good) and the bunch of beet roots in my fridge, I decided to make a beet root pizza.

I started with a part whole wheat, part regular flour pizza dough.

I’m not gonna post the recipe for the dough here, since it wasn’t very good, but I’m gonna spam you with pictures, since it looked like it was gonna be a winner. Anyone got a good pizza dough recipe, let me know!

Meanwhile..

Ain’t she a beaut?

While that was rising and minding it’s own business, I prepared the veggies that were going on top.

Boiled some beet roots till they just had a slight bite. Sliced some onions into rings, and got out the goat cheese. I just love goat cheese, and I think it suits the beet roots sweetness like a dream, but if it’s to strong for you I’m pretty sure some fresh mozzarella would do it justice.

Then the dough got rolled out – I even did some fancy flips in the air – and some tomato purée was spread out underneath the onion and beet root.

Crumble the goat cheese and grate some parmesan. A drizzle of olive oil, and into the oven at 180 degrees celsius for 20 minutes or so.

When it got out again, I added some arugula or rocket or whatever it is called, and some more parmesan. And dug in.

Pretty good stuff if I may say so myself. I’m certain Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall would be proud.

Leave a Reply

