Spinach, grapefruit and plenty of seeds

This diet thing is hard. After eating healthy for two days, I stuffed my face with falafel and fries. And mayo. It’s all about preparing every meal yourself I guess. It’s just hard when people offer things that aren’t just boiled or raw vegetables.

Luckily I love cooking, so I woke up this morning knowing I wasn’t gonna let any horrible fast food get in my way! Knekkebrød it is!

I despise the kind you buy, like VASA and so on, but just like with all things, home made versions usually rule. I looked at some recipes and figured it is pretty is to just wing, so I just made something up

Rolled oats, flax seed, sunflower seeds, sesame seeds – a deciliter of each
three deciliters of whole grain flour
one and a half deciliters of olive oil
two deciliters of water
a big teaspoon of baking powder
some salt

It’s basically about stirring everything together.

You can use whatever flour and seeds you want, it should just have the consistency of a thick porridge.

Spread it out on a baking sheet, as thin as possible, and cut it into pieces. Bake at 200 degrees celsius for about 20-25 minutes, until golden. They crisp up when they cool off.

For lunch I made a light salad with spinach, roasted almonds, grapefruit and a dressing. Another dish form my two week diet thingy. Pretty nice actually.

I was lucky enough to find some rather sweet grapefruits. I usually despise the bitter flavour, but these were really nice. The dressing was olive oil, apple vinegar, cayenne and honey. And preparation was to toss everything together. I love that.

I feel so healthy sometimes.

Note to self to just add filets of grapefruits, not squeeze the remains over the salad. The last pieces of salad got way too sour!

Apart from that it was a really nice and surprisingly filling salad. Crunchy, sweet, sour and savory. Plus it looks really fancy!

One thought on “Spinach, grapefruit and plenty of seeds

Leave a comment